Market Research -- Library Resources
There is no single source of information for market research, and market research may take considerable time. These Library databases may be useful for your research. A Berkeley Public Library card is required to use them outside of the library's buildings.
- Demographics NowA database of several million businesses, which enables you to create detailed local demographic reports on both existing businesses and possible customers.
- Magazine MasterFILE CompleteFull-text articles from hundreds of specialized business magazines, including articles on industry trends and outlook.
- Academic OneFILEIncludes full-text articles from hundreds of specialized business journals.
- Encyclopedia of AssociationsUp to date listings for national, regional and international organizations with detailed descriptions of causes, financial data and membership. Many business associations offer demographic information on their industry, either free or for sale to their members.
- Business Insights GlobalCompany profiles and histories, brand information, rankings, investment reports, chronologies, and full-text magazine articles.
Comments (0)
Market Research -- Beyond the Library
Here are suggested free sources of information for market research. Again, there are many sources of business information and market research can take a lot of time.
- Berkeley Office of Economic DevelopmentBerkeley's Office of Economic Development has produced a summary of Berkeley's business demographics. Statistical & Economic Profile Berkeley California. They will also help Berkeley businesses with demographic research.
- Alameda County Small Business Development CenterAlameda County Small Business Development Center’s suggested online resources for business information, including demographics and market research.
- East Bay SCOREEast Bay SCORE's suggested online resources for business information, including demographics and market research.
- CensusFree demographic data from the 2010 U.S. Census as it is published. Much of this can be found in Demographics Now.
Business Counseling
- Alameda County Small Business Development CenterThe Library offers a variety of free small-business classes with the Alameda County Small Business Development Center. Classes are usually three hours on weekday afternoons, in the Central Library Community Meeting Room.
Currently scheduled classes include:
Marketing for the Holidays, September 6, 2012 2-5pm
Successful Restaurants, October 9, 2012 2-5pm
Accessing Capital, November 8, 2012 2-5pm
Legal Resources for Entrepreneurs, December 11, 2012 2-5pm
Successful Business Plans, January 9, 2013 2-5pm
Starting a Business, February 6, 2013 2-5pm
Accessing Capital, March 6, 2013 2-5pm
Employment Law, April 10, 2013 2-5pm
Social Media, May 8, 2013 2-5pm
Marketing for Artists, May 23, 2013, 2-5pm
E-Marketing, June 5, 2013 2-5pm - East Bay SCORE (Service Corps Of Retired Executives)The Central Library offers free, one-hour, one-on-one small-business counseling from a SCORE expert to anyone interested in starting or growing a business. Counseling sessions are by appointment only, Tuesdays between 4:30 and 7:30 and Saturdays between 1:30 and 4:30. Call the Reference Desk, 981-6148, to make an appointment. It is best to call at least a week ahead.
- Small Business AdministrationThe United States Small Business Administration provides information on federal business assistance and regulations.
Small Business Finance
In general, most small businesses will be unable to find grants or any other free source of financing. These agencies can help small businesses find loans.
- Alameda County Small Business Development DenterThe Alameda County Small Business Development Center offers seminars and counseling in small-business finance.
- East Bay SCOREEast Bay SCORE offers counseling to small businesses, including help with financing.
- Small Business Administration: Loans, Grants & FundingThe Small Business Administration discusses loans and grants and how to find them, as well as venture capital.
Business Legal Assistance
- The Berkeley Office of Economic DevelopmentThe Berkeley Office of Economic Development offers Berkeley businesses personal assistance with choosing a location, licenses and regulations, demographic research, financing and special opportunities, and community associations.
- Starting a Business in BerkeleyAn online guide to the legal and regulatory process of starting a business in Berkeley, from Berkeley's Office of Economic Development.
- The California Secretary of StateThe California Secretary of State licenses and regulates California businesses, and offers information on other state agencies affecting businesses.
- Small Business AdministrationThe Small Business Administration provides information on federal business assistance and regulations.
- CalGOLDCalGOLD has an interactive guide to all California state, county, and local licensing requirements for businesses.
More Help
- AnewAmericaAnewAmerica assists with the establishment and expansion of micro businesses, for new citizens, immigrants, and refugees.
- Go-BizCalifornia Office of Business and Economic Development provides resources for starting a business, including information on state and local incentive programs.
- Inner City AdvisorsInner City Advisors offers free consulting services to inner-city companies.
- Operation HopeOperation Hope is designed for aspiring entrepreneurs from low-wealth neighborhoods and offers both business training and financial counseling.
- Pacific Community VenturesPacific Community Ventures offers business advising to help create jobs and economic opportunity in lower-income communities.
- Women's Initiative for Self-EmploymentWomen's Initiative for Self-Employment provides high-potential low-income women with training, funding, and ongoing support to start their own businesses.
Library Books
The Library has hundreds of books on all aspects of running a small business. A few outstanding recent titles are listed here.
Local Business Associations And Information
- Berkeley Information Network (BIN)BIN has information on local business associations, as well as over 2,000 other local nonprofits and government agencies.
- Berkeley Startup ClusterA neighborhood organization focused on growing Downtown Berkeley's cluster of tech-oriented startups and established companies. It is a collaboration among UC Berkeley, the City of Berkeley, the East Bay Green Corridor, the Downtown Berkeley Association, the Berkeley Chamber of Commerce and private sector companies.
- Berkeley Skydeck Startup AcceleratorA collaboration between UC and local agencies and associations to encourage local businesses started by UC and LBL researchers.
- www.ebgreencorridor.orgLocal cities and universities to promote green businesses in the East Bay.
- Locate in BerkeleyThis website lists vacant commercial space in Berkeley.
.gif)
Loading...
