Location, Hours, Contact
Further Reading, Viewing & Listening
This is the "Home" page of the "Art & Music, Sports & Recreation Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Library Locations and Hours Library Calendar of Events My Library Account Berkeley Public Library Home

Art & Music, Sports & Recreation Collections   Tags: art, cds, compact disc, lps, music, photography, recreation, slides, song index, sports  

Last Updated: Jan 8, 2014 URL: http://berkeleypubliclibrary.libguides.com/artandmusic Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

New to Art & Music

New books, CDs, and sheet music are added to the collection all year round. Browse the New Arrivals list, or call Art & Music to learn about how to get email alerts when new items are added in specific subject areas or genres.

New Books and Sheet Music

New CDs

new & exciting!

Cover Art
The Image of the Black in Western Art - David Bindman and Henry Louis Gates, eds.
Call Number: 704.9493 Im1 2010
ISBN: 9780674052710
We've just added the complete updated edition to our Reference collection.

 

Staff Picks

Dayna's Picks: L.A. Modern

Cover Art
Overdrive: L.A. Constructs the Future, 1940-1990
Call Number: 720.9794 Ov2
From the exhibition at the Getty Museum
"Overdrive refers to the extraordinary pace and worldwide impact of L.A.'s impressive growth. The term also alludes to the fact that an engine churning at incredible speed may overheat. In the face of complicated civic, socioeconomic, and environmental challenges, L.A. has continued to recalibrate and foster bold new cycles of architectural exploration."
Exactly!

Cover Art
Architecture of the Sun: Los Angeles Modernism, 1900-1970 - Thomas S. Hines
Call Number: 720.9794 H589a
A hefty tome that thoroughly explores modern architecture in Los Angeles (and some other Southern California sites). Beautifully put together, just bring a forklift to carry it home.

 

Art & Music

Welcome to the Art & Music Department!



We're located on the 5th floor of the Central Library
in downtown Berkeley

2090 Kittredge St. Berkeley, California, 94704 (510) 981-6241

contact us by email

or ask a librarian a brief research question

 

Learn More About Our Services

Music Resources

Art Resources

Film Resources

Sports and Recreation Resoures

 

Special Collections

Art, Music, & Recreation Clip Files

Historic newspaper clippings and ephemera related to Berkeley artists, architects, athletes, cultural institutions, and more. Download a list of the file headings for the A&M Clip Files.

Slide Collection

Art & Music has the only publicly-accessible circulating slide collection in the Bay Area, containing 25,000 images from early cave painting to contemporary installation art.

Song Index

The BPL Song Index is a collection of over 270 books of sheet music indexed by song title. Allows one to easily find lyrics/music to many popular, folk, jazz, Broadway, and religious songs. Try searching the Online Song Index during the beta testing phase.

 

Discover and Go!

Discover and Go logo

 

Museum Passes for Free through Discover and Go!

 

You can get free passes to more than 30 Bay Area cultural venues. Passes are available for printing online! Log in with your Berkeley Public Library card to our Discover and Go website at http://discover.berkeleypubliclibrary.org and select your passes today.

Please note:

  • You can search for passes by venue or by date. Passes are valid only for a specific date.
  • Once passes are printed, reservations cannot be cancelled or changed.
  • You must present picture ID to use the pass and it must match the name on the pass.
  • Children’s cards cannot be used to reserve passes. This is due to ID and other requirements on the venues’ part.
  • Only two passes can be reserved at one time (there is no limit to total passes used).
  • For additional information about Discover & Go, please see our FAQ.
 

Upcoming Cultural Arts Events

The Art & Music Department, with the support of the Friends of the Berkeley Public Library, presents a range of free events throughout the year to encourage arts appreciation and participation.

Current Exhibition:

Tibetan People and Landscapes of the Himalayas
The Photography of Richard Christiani

November 25, 2013 - February 2, 2014

Bay Area architect and photographer, Richard Christiani, presents an exhibit of striking color photographs, capturing the stark beauty of the Himalayas and the devoutness of the Tibetan people.  An avid hiker and practicing Tibetan Buddhist, Christiani has completed several treks into remote regions of the Himalayas to visit some of Tibet’s most sacred Buddhist sites and dramatic populated landscapes.  

Richard Christiani is president of Christiani Johnson Architects, an award-winning San Francisco firm.  In addition to completing undergraduate and graduate studies in architecture at U.C. Berkeley, Christiani has formal training in both photography and art.

Christiani will speak about his experiences photographing the people and landscapes of the Himalayas at a free event on Sunday, December 1st at 2:00 p.m. in the 3rd floor Community Meeting Room of the Central Library. The photography exhibition will be on display in the Catalog Lobby on the first floor of the Central Library, 2090 Kittredge at Shattuck, downtown Berkeley.

 

Special Events

 

Ongoing Events

Playreaders

1st and 3rd Wednesdays, 12-1 pm, 3rd floor Community Meeting Room

Meets 1st and 3rd Wednesdays to read aloud from great plays, changing parts frequently. Intended for adult participants.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip